Jess Castle and the Eyeballs of Death by M. B. Vincent

Jess has come back home after fleeing her job. Her father isn’t happy about it at all, not only does she turn up unannounced, but she hasn’t been home in so long, and she failed to turn up at Christmas following the death of her mother…

But Jess is not the talk of the town because something bigger has happened. There’s been a MURDER. And a gruesome one at that!

A package is delivered containing the eyeballs of the deceased and with symbols that pique Jess’s interest… can she get herself involved in the police case? Well… it’s not a case of ‘can she’… Jess just barges herself in, DS Eden had no chance!

When I first opened this book I spotted the reference of ‘perfect for fans of Midsomer Murders‘ and this is so TRUE! It’s also perfect for fans of Agatha Raisin and the Florence Love series as it’s light-hearted, witty but packed full of twists!

The plot runs so smoothly and effortlessly (more so than Jess’s car!!) that the pages were near enough turning themselves, as I followed Jess and her discovery to the truth.

M. B. Vincent (who it turns out is a rather successful married couple) have captured country town life perfectly, you feel completely immersed in it all – the pub life, the charity shop the pharmacy, the cafe… your brain easily imagines it, due to the descriptive nature of the writing.

There are some cracking characters in this book that add humour to these pages and really bring this plot alive!

Jess Castle and the Eyeballs of Death is out NOW and is available in paperback and eBook versions by Simon & Schuster, I highly recommend you check this one out! Perfect for the build up to Halloween but light-hearted enough not to spook you!

*Thank you so much Jess for sending me over a copy, I chose to reflect my honest thoughts here on my blog*

Until next time, Chloé x

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s